A 2nd degree DWI is the second-most severe DWI in Minnesota. This offense is labeled a gross misdemeanor, which means it is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000. In addition, a 2nd degree DWI carries a number of collateral consequences, including loss of driver’s license, impoundment of license plates (“whiskey plates”), and forfeiture of the vehicle used in the incident. As such, more likely than not you're going to need some assistance. My suggestion - contact a Minnesota Criminal Defense Attorney - ASAP.
Why Were You Charged With a 2nd Degree DWI?
A 2nd degree DWI occurs when someone drives, operates and/or is in control of a motor vehicle at a time that he is intoxicated (usually with BAC over 0.08) and there are "other" aggravating factors. These may include: prior DWI convictions, driver's license revocations premised on alcol-related arrest, having a child in the vehicle at the time of the arrest and/or having a BAC above 0.20. If two of these factors are present, then you will be charged with second degree DUI. Additionally, a DWI test refusal with one aggravating factor will also result in a second degree DWI.
What are your options?
A second degree DWI is a very serious charge. Not only can it result in jail time, the loss of your driver's license and the forfieture of your vehicle - you may also be required to pay numerous reinstatement fees and higher insurance rates to become a valid driver again.
What Should You Do?
Retaining a good Minnesota DWI lawyer is usually your best option when facing a charge of this nature. The Rolloff Law Office has represented many individuals facing charges of this nature - and worse. If you or someone you love needs help, call today: (612) 234-1165 or email me jay@rollofflawoffice to set up a free consultation and learn all about your defenses.