In the State of Minnesota, the laws for Juvenile Drunk Driving differ from those for adults --- and all too often, the accused will not simply receive a slap on the wrist.
Frankly, because these persons are still in the beginnings of their driving lives, courts - hoping to deter future offenses - often will come down hard. This is why it is important to talk to an experienced Minnesota Juvenile Criminal Defense Lawyer.
Minnesota’s Not a Drop Alcohol LawFurthermore, for minors that have a higher blood alcohol content than just a trace, they will find that they face higher punishments. So those above the limit of .08 will have a higher punishment than someone with .02 and those with a blood alcohol content of .16 will face even greater punishments than that.
When it comes to minors and alcohol, there two primary laws that dictate what punishments they will face. While the zero tolerance policy of the state of Minnesota dictates they will be punished, these laws dictate what those punishments will be.
This law specifically targets juveniles that are below the age of 18 who get behind the wheel while under the influence. Punishments for violations of Vanessa’s Law include:
- They cannot obtain a license or learner’s permit until age 18
- Must pay up to $680 in order to receive the license
- Juvenile DWI drivers may also face extra punishments depending on the nature of the incident and blood alcohol content depending on the judge’s discretion.
- Revocation of driver’s license for up to 30 days or more
- Replacement with a limited or temporary license that has provisions to prevent further DWI incidents.
- Additional punishments may be added depending on the nature of the incident and the blood alcohol content at the judge’s discretion.
If you are in the Minneapolis area and need representation for an underage DWI or even for a DWI for those above the age of 21 years old, contact the Rolloff Law Office to see what we can do for you. Call today: (612) 234-1165.